About us

Manusarts was founded in 2013 by Jana and Petja Pulkrabek. From early age the siblings of German-Czech origin grew up with the idea of turning their fascination for film, theatre and art into a profession. Manusarts specializes on artistically ambitious films with a personal signature, as well as interdisciplinary theatre productions with international partners. Visions arise in the head and heart, the hands accomplish the art. - Many hands create an artform.

With more than forty in-house productions, covering the fields of film, theater, music, dance and exhibitions, the company focuses on international co-productions and cultural exchange projects, currently mainly with Danish and Swedish artists. In order to deepen the cultural alliance of the Nordic regions, Manusarts founded the network platform “Move the North” in 2019, presenting cultural activities on an average of more than one hundred days, promoting cultural events in Germany, Denmark and Sweden. The festival creates cultural ties between the cities of Hamburg, Copenhagen and Malmö and brings together artists from all disciplines.

With the initiative of Copenhagen's House of International Theater - HIT and the cross-border-festival Move the North, the company created two platforms for international cultural collaboration. As part of the Hamburger Kultursommer 2021, Manusarts in collaboration with The English Theater of Hamburg, hosted the two-week festival “Hamburger Kultur International”, which presented 31 events and featured 45 international artists. 

jana.jpg

Jana Pulkrabek is a producer, director, writer and actress, also working as artistic director and festival leader. She studied acting in New York at the Lee Strasberg Theater Institute and Actor’s Studio, as well as directing and production in London (Ealing Studios) and Berlin (ISFF). After three years in each New York, London and Berlin, she worked in Hamburg for the production companies Tatamifilms and Maxfilm and was in charge of running the children's theater “HoheLuftschiff” for two years. Jana has been developing and coordinating international theater projects since 2010, among others for the department of international cultural exchange of the Hamburg Ministry of Culture and Media. She produced, wrote and directed several theatre production, which also toured internationally. Her short film "Nachtrausch", which was funded by the Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein Film Foundation, screened at several international film festivals. In January 2017 Jana co-founded Copenhagen's international theatre stage HIT-House of International Theater. She was named Hamburger of the Month tohether with her brother Petja by SZENE HAMBURG (January edition 2019) for creating the network platform Move the North, which links artists between the regions of Hamburg and Greater Copenhagen.

petja.jpg

Petja Pulkrabek is a screenwriter, director, producer and festival director. After studying film at the Medienakademie Hamburg and studying film and theater at the Freie Universität Berlin, he has since worked on several short films and international cultural projects. Petja, together with his sister Jana, was named Hamburger of the Month by SZENE HAMBURG (January edition 2019) for creating the network platform Move the North, which links artists between the regions of Hamburg and Greater Copenhagen. His short film "Occasus" (2016), funded by the Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein Film Foundation and Nordmedia, was presented at numerous film festivals around the world and won two awards for best camera (Best Cinematography: Norway Tamil Film Festival; Bangalore Shorts Film Festival). Petja Pulkrabek is currently working on the production of his new short film Silent Routines, which he wrote and will also direct. The dance film was funded by the FFHSH and is a collaboration with the free dance company Kiel.

Board

Prof. Manuela Rousseau is the Head of Corporate Social Responsibility Headquarters at Beiersdorf AG, Hamburg, where she has been a member of the Supervisory Board since June 1999, with further engagement on the Supervisory Board of maxingvest ag since April 2009. Since 2009 Manuela has been a member of Women in the Supervisory Boards e.V. (FidAR). In 1992, while already active as Group Spokesperson for Beiersdorf AG, Manuela Rousseau began teaching at the Hamburg University of Music and Theater as a lecturer for the cultural and media management course. Her area of ​​expertise is fundraising management. In addition to numerous lectures in Germany and abroad, she is involved in various committees. In 1999 she was awarded the Federal Medal of Merit for her voluntary work. In 2002, Vogue Business voted her one of the 100 top business women in Germany. In 2008, she was inducted into the Hall of Fame of the Sponsoring Association. We would like to thank Manuela Rousseau for her work as Manusarts Advisory Board from 2014 - 2020.

 

 

Prof. Dipl.-Bibl. Prof. h.c. Klaus-Peter Nebel (head of the international course in media and culture management at the Latvian Academy of Culture in Riga) has been a professor and head of the master's course for media and culture management at the Academy of Culture (LKA) in Riga since 2000. Since 2001 he has also been teaching at the National Institute of Business at the Moscow State University of Human Sciences. In 2005 and 2013 he received the professor h.c. award. Peter was the Director of Corporate Communications at maxingvest AG (holding company for Beiersdorf AG, Tchibo GmbH and Tesa AG) until 2010. Prior to this engagement he was the Head of Press & Public Relations at Beiersdorf AG for over 25 years. During this period, P. Nebel was voted as best press spokesman in Germany several times. He has written several books and was the editor and columnist of the culture magazine “Mail from Riga”.

 

Christian Pothe is a lawyer and Attorney at Law with licenses in Hamburg and New York with further comittment as Managing Director of VANO Food Chain Management GmbH. He was previously engaged as the vice president of FC St. Pauli, as lawyer and CEO of the law and tax consultancy firm Buse Heberer Fromm, and as managing director of Bucerius Education GmbH. In addition, Pothe is the co-author of the handbook "Kanzleimanagement in der Praxis" and board member of the German Society for Professional Service Firms - DGPSF. Pothe has remained involved with football on a voluntary basis, as chairman of the DFB youth committee and also as a member of the executive committee of the Hamburg Football Association.

Thomas Dias Fernandes (tax consultant, certificated industrial and business lawyer) was born in Flensburg in 1978. He trained commercial and employment law at the University of Hamburg. After working for five years in auditing and tax consulting at the Rödl & Partner firm in Hamburg and Nürnberg, he has become tax consultant for the Kanzlei Kück in Hamburg in 2015. “As a father of two children and member of the Advisory Board at Manusarts, linking linking dry tax matters with lively art and culture is particularly important to me.”

Ruth Bäßler was responsible for the international cultural exchange program of the Hamburg Ministry of Culture until 2016. After studying theology, sociology and librarianship at the University of Hamburg, she worked as a teacher, lecturer and test developer of school and thesis tests. During her time with the Hamburg cultural authority, she was particularly committed to cultural exchange programs with Marseille, Toulouse, St. Petersburg, Groningen and Copenhagen.
In addition to her work on the advisory board of Manusarts, she does voluntary work for the Monsoon Theater, the Alfred Schnittke Academy and other musical projects.


 

Dietmar Hamm (real estate specialist and center manager) was born 1964 in Hamburg. After gaining Europe-wide experience in real estate management and marketing, he took on the management position of the Levantehaus in Hamburg in 1999. As a cultural venue, the Levantehaus hosts and initiates festivals, performances, concerts and readings. Under his guidance the Levantehaus was awarded with the "Kulturmerkur" in 2004, a highly acclaimed prize for cultural achievements in Hamburg. Further nominations and awards followed. "Bold cultural concepts challenge me and I enjoy supporting and accompanying culture."

kopfzeile_aktuell.png

Über uns

Manusarts wurde im Jahre 2013 von Jana und Petja Pulkrabek gegründet. Früh wuchs bei den Geschwistern deutsch-tschechischer Herkunft die Idee, ihre Faszination für Film und Theater zum Beruf zu machen. ​Im Vordergrund stehen künstlerisch anspruchsvolle Filme, mit persönlicher Handschrift, sowie spartenübergreifende Theaterproduktionen mit internationalen Partnern. Visionen entstehen in Kopf und Herz, die Hände vollbringen die Kunst. – Film ist Handarbeit.

Mit über vierzig Manusarts Eigenproduktionen in den Bereichen Film, Theater, Musik, Tanz und Ausstellungen liegt ein langjähriger Schwerpunkt der Firma auf internationalen Koproduktionen, sowie dem internationalen Kulturaustausch, speziell mit tschechischen, dänischen und schwedischen Künstler*innen. Um den kulturellen Schulterschluss der nordischen Regionen weiter zu vertiefen, gründete Manusarts die Netzwerkplattform “Move the North“ und präsentierte im Kick-Off Jahr 2019 mit über 30 internationalen Veranstaltungen an hundert Tagen Kulturevents in Deutschland, Dänemark und Schweden. Das Cross-Border-Festival schlägt eine kulturelle Brücke zwischen den Städten Hamburg, Kopenhagen und Malmö und bringt Kulturschaffende aller Sparten zusammen. Mit HIT-House of International Theatre in Kopenhagen und Move the North präsentiert Manusarts zwei Plattformen für Kulturaustausch und internationale Zusammenarbeit.

Im Juli 2021 leitete Manusarts in Kooperation mit The English Theatre of Hamburg im Rahmen des Hamburger Kultursommers das Kunst- und Musikfestival „Hamburger Kultur International“, das an 14 Tagen mit 31 Events 45 internationale Künstler*innen präsentierte.

jana.jpg

Jana Pulkrabek ist Produzentin, Regisseurin, Theater- u. Drehbuchautorin, Schauspielerin, Theaterintendantin und Festivalleiterin. Sie studierte Schauspiel in New York am Lee Strasberg Theatre Institue und Actor’s Studio, sowie Regie und Produktion in London (Ealing Studios) und Berlin (ISFF). Nach jeweils drei Jahren in New York, London und Berlin, arbeitete sie in Hamburg für die Produktionsfirmen Tatamifilms und Maxfilm und leitete zwei Jahre lang das Kindertheater „HoheLuftschiff“. Seit 2010 entwickelt und koordiniert sie internationale Theaterprojekte unter anderem für das Referat internationaler Kulturaustausch der Kulturbehörde Hamburg. Sie produzierte, schrieb und inszenierte Theaterproduktionen für mehrere Bühnen. Ihr Kurzfilm „Nachtrausch“, der von der Filmförderung Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein gefördert wurde, lief international auf Filmfestivals. Im Januar 2017 gründete Jana als Co-Intendantin HIT-House of International Theatre in Kopenhagen und wurde dafür international ausgezeichnet. Für ihr Engagement der internationalen kulturellen Vernetzung von Hamburg und Kopenhagen und Malmö wurde Jana gemeinsam mit ihrem Bruder Petja von der SZENE HAMBURG als Hamburger des Monats ernannt (Januar Ausgabe).

petja.jpg

Petja Pulkrabek ist Drehbuchautor, Regisseur, Produzent und Festivalleiter. Mit Filmstudium an der Medienakademie Hamburg sowie Studium der Film- und Theaterwissenschaften an der FU Berlin realisiert er seither Kurzfilme und internationale Kulturprojekte. Für sein Engagement der internationalen kulturellen Vernetzung von Hamburg und Kopenhagen wurde Petja gemeinsam mit seiner Schwester Jana von der SZENE HAMBURG als Hamburger des Monats ernannt (Januar Ausgabe). Sein von der Filmförderung Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein und Nordmedia geförderter Kurzfilm “Occasus“ (2016) wurde weltweit auf zahlreichen Filmfestivals präsentiert und konnte zwei Preise für die beste Kamera gewinnen (Best Cinematography: Norway Tamil Film Festival;  Bangalore Shorts Film Festival). Momentan realisiert Petja Pulkrabek als Regisseur, Autor und Produzent gemeinsam mit Tänzer*innen der freien Tanzkompanie Kiel das Kurzfilmprojekt Silent Routines (AT), für das er u.A. eine Förderung der FFHSH erhalten hat. 

Beirat

Prof. Manuela Rousseau ist Leiterin Corporate Social Responsibility Headquarters der Beiersdorf AG, Hamburg. Seit Juni 1999 ist sie Mitglied im Aufsichtsrat der Beiersdorf AG, seit April 2009 vertritt sie die leitenden Angestellten auch im Aufsichtsrat der maxingvest ag. Seit 2009 ist sie Mitglied bei Frauen in die Aufsichtsräte e.V. (FidAR). Schon während ihrer Tätigkeit als Konzernsprecherin der Beiersdorf AG begann Manuela Rousseau 1992 an der Hamburger Hochschule für Musik und Theater als Dozentin im Studiengang Kultur- und Medienmanagement zu lehren. Ihr Fachgebiet, das sie mit Publikationen begleitet, ist Fundraising Management. Neben zahlreichen Vorträgen im In- und Ausland engagiert sie sich in verschiedenen Gremien. Für ihr ehrenamtliches Engagement wurde sie 1999 mit der Bundesverdienstmedaille ausgezeichnet. 2002 wählte Vogue Business sie zu den 100 Top Business Frauen in Deutschland. 2008 erfolgte die Aufnahme in die Hall of Fame des Fachverband Sponsoring.

Wir bedanken uns bei Manuela Rousseau für Ihre Tätigkeit als Manusarts Beirat von 2014 - 2020.

Prof. Dipl.-Bibl. Prof. h.c. Klaus-Peter Nebel (Leiter int. Studiengang Medien- und Kulturmanagement der lettischen  Kulturakademie in Riga) ist seit 2000 Professor und Leiter des Master- und Promotionsstudiengangs Medien-und Kulturmanagement an der Kulturakademie (LKA) in Riga. Seit 2001 unterrichtet er auch am National Institut of Business der Universitär für Humanwissenschaften in Moskau. Als Akademische Würdigung erhielt er 2005 den Professor h.c. verliehen, gleiche Auszeichnung 2013 an der LKA. Er hat mehrere Bücher geschrieben und  ist Herausgeber und Kolumnist des Kulturmagazins “Mail aus Riga”. Bis 201O war er zeitgleich Direktor der Konzernkommunikation der maxingvest AG (Holding für  Beiersdorf AG, Tchibo GmbH und Tesa AG), davor war er 25. Jahre Leiter Presse & Public Relations der Beiersdorf AG. In dieser Funktion wurde P. Nebel mehrfach als bester Pressesprecher bundesweit gewählt.

Christian Pothe ist Rechtsanwalt und Attorney at Law mit Zulassungen in Hamburg und New York sowie Geschäftsführer der VANO Food Chain Management GmbH. Zuvor war er unter anderem Vizepräsident des FC St. Pauli, Anwalt und Geschäftsführer in der Rechtsanwalts- und Steuerberaterkanzlei Buse Heberer Fromm sowie Geschäftsführer der Bucerius Education GmbH. Daneben ist Pothe Co-Autor des Handbuchs „Kanzleimanagement in der Praxis“ und Vorstand der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Professional Service Firms – DGPSF. Dem Fußball ist Pothe bis heute ehrenamtlich verbunden geblieben, unter anderem als Präsidiumsmitglied des Hamburger Fußball-Verbands und als Vorsitzender des DFB Jugendausschusses.

Thomas Dias Fernandes (Steuerberater, Diplom Arbeits- und Wirtschaftsjurist), 

geb. 28.01.1978 als "Flensburger Jung". Gelernter Wirtschafts- und Arbeitsjurist an der Universität Hamburg. Nach fünf Jahren in der Wirtschaftsprüfung und Steuerberatung bei Rödl & Partner in Hamburg und Nürnberg nunmehr seit 2015 Steuerberater in Kanzlei in der Rothenbaumchausse, Hamburg. Als Familienvater von zwei Kindern und Beiratsmitglied bei Manusarts ist mir die Verknüpfung der trockenen Steuermaterie mit der lebhaften Kunst und Kultur besonders wichtig. 

Ruth Bäßler war bis 2016 in der Kulturbehörde Hamburg verantwortlich für den Internationalen Kulturaustausch. Nach dem Studium der Theologie, der Soziologie und des Bibliothekswesens an der Universität Hamburg arbeitete sie als Lehrerin, Lektorin und Testentwicklerin von Schul- und Leistungstests. In ihrer Zeit in der Kulturbehörde engagierte sie sich besonders für den Kulturaustausch mit Marseille, Toulouse, St. Petersburg, Groningen und Kopenhagen.

Neben ihrer Arbeit im Beirat von Manusarts arbeitet sie ehrenamtlich für das Monsuntheater, die Alfred Schnittke Akademie und andere musikalische Projekte.

Dietmar Hamm (Immobilienfachwirt/ Centermanager),geboren 1964 in Hamburg. Nach europaweiten Erfahrungen im Immobilenmanagement und Marketing seit 1999 u.a. verantwortlich für das Levantehaus in Hamburg. Das Levantehaus wurde 2004 mit dem Kulturförderpreis „Kulturmerkur“ ausgezeichnet. Weitere Nominierungen und Auszeichnungen der Kulturförderung folgten. Das Levantehaus ist als Stätte für Kultur stets Gastgeber und Initiator für Festivals, Performances, Konzerte und Lesungen. „Mutige Kulturkonzepte fordern mich heraus und ich habe Freude daran, Kultur zu unterstützen und zu begleiten.“

kopfzeile_aktuell.png